Secondary Home Learning

Summer 1: Summer 1 – Online Learning Tasks  

I hope that you and your families are safe, secure and staying as positive as you possibly can be, whilst we are all following government guidance to stay inside. As I write this we are in our third week of school closure, although with the Easter holidays added it is now five weeks since we have all been together. It is not an easy task, to avoid going out and seeing other people; however, every day you stay at home is a day in which you are ensuring both your own safety and the safety and wellbeing of other people as well. Each of you are contributing towards our country’s collective efforts to combat Corona and staying at home is how we can ‘play our part’ towards returning life to as close to normal as we can hope for. We are living through unprecedented times, certainly the most significant global experience in living memory; we need to look after ourselves and one another.

Staying at home might be the ‘right thing’, but the right thing is rarely the same as the ‘easy option’ and you may be feeling a range of emotions: worry for the health of yourself or of others; concerns about making sure your GCSE Progress does not slip; even feeling a bit frustrated or bored that you are restricted to one location. All of these are perfectly understandable.

Within these pages, we have gathered together quality resources and facilities for you to engage with as part of your own independent learning, to bolster your own daily efforts to study and to ensure you are ready for a successful return to school, whenever that return date may be.

I genuinely miss seeing you all, and especially seeing you all together; I haven’t asked anyone to take their coat off in weeks! Stay in touch with your teachers and with one another through Teams and let’s look forward to when we can finally go back to school.

Kind regards,

P. Walker
Deputy Head

Year Groups

Year 7

Year 8

Year 9

Year 10

Year 11

School may be closed, but the best students will remain hungry for quality learning opportunities. Working independently is going to be quite a challenge and will require individual resilience and determination. Independent learning is not the same as learning on your own, however: your teachers will be available on-line at the times detailed below to offer support and ensure you are progressing: much in the same way as University tutors engage students for distance learning degrees. To contact your teachers, simply log in to Office 365 Teams, find the room/teacher you want and make contact. Your teachers will be on-hand to support your independent learning through contact such as:
  • Answering direct questions that you may have regarding content,
  • Posting activties and subject-related challenges such as past-paper questions,
  • Coordinating pre-arranged on-line tutorials based on a theme, for example: “10:00-10:30: online chat reviewing Weber’s explanation of Social Stratification with Mr Walker
  • Setting new reading or wider resources to really master your subjects,
  • Responding to submitted work or sharing good examples of practice,
  • Raising aspirations by looking past GCSE to Post-16 courses, demonstrating how your GCSE will lay a foundation of skills and knowledge to succeed at A-Level (or equivalent).
 
Each subject area has a set time during which they will be online each day – if a student wished, they could engage with teachers directly for a full 25 hours per working week via these means.
 

Online

Subject

09:00-10:00

Creatives: Art, DT, Music, Food, Photography

10:00-11:00

Higher Maths, Foundation Maths

11:00-12:00

Science: Triple, Higher, Foundation

12:00-13:00

English Lit, English Lang

13:00-14:00

Humanities: Geog, Hist, RE

14:00-15:00

Spanish, iMedia, PE

If you are having issues logging in please email ict@starbank.bham.sch.uk with your Name, Form and Date of Birth and the ICT team will get back to you on the contract details you supply.

 

Students and parents can contact Subject Leaders and subject teachers directly via email during school working hours. Please allow up to 24 hours for reply.

English S Roy s.roy@starbank.bham.sch.uk
English L Ali l.ali@starbank.bham.sch.uk
Maths I Rehim i.rehim@starbank.bham.sch.uk
Maths N Bukradeen n.bukreedan@starbank.bham.sch.uk
Science N Kiyani n.kiyani@starbank.bham.sch.uk
Science S Hussain s.hussain@starbank.bham.sch.uk
Creatives (DT, Food, Art and Photography) G Gurney g.gurney@starbank.bham.sch.uk
Music A Marsh a.marsh@starbank.bham.sch.uk
Art and Photography S Arif s.arif@starbank.bham.sch.uk
Geography F Catall f.cattell@starbank.bham.sch.uk
Geography J Begum j.begum@starbank.bham.sch.uk
History F Inman f.inman@starbank.bham.sch.uk
History S Gregory s.gregory@starbank.bham.sch.uk
Religious Studies S Khalid s.khalid@starbank.bham.sch.uk
Religious Studies P Walker p.walker@starbank.bham.sch.uk
Sociology P Walker p.walker@starbank.bham.sch.uk
Spanish J Khan j.khan@starbank.bham.sch.uk
Spanish E Rubio e.rubio@starbank.bham.sch.uk
PE V Allen v.allen@starbank.bham.sch.uk
PE R White r.white@starbank.bham.sch.uk

If pupils have any login queries, they can contact ict@starbank.bham.sch.uk

Quick Links

Wellbeing

GCSE Pod

Microsoft Teams

Email Login

Seneca

Maths Watch

Pearson Active Learn

OAK National Academy

BBC Bitesize Daily Lessons

(Link to the timetable)

DfE list of Educational Online Resources

Online Safety Advice

How to login to GCSE Pod

Pupil guide in accessing GCSE Pod

Get in Touch

Visit our Contact Us page to find out the best way to get in touch with Starbank School, or fill in the contact form.